The Velvet Underground, over the box.


Si chiama ‘The Verve/MGM Albums’ il magnifico box in cinque LP a celebrare ancora una volta l’opera assoluta e fondamentale dei Velvet Underground. “A five-LP deluxe boxed set gathering the rare mono versions of the band’s first three studio albums along with the superior mono version of Nico’s Chelsea Girl AND a definitive edition of the band’s unfinished fourth album”. L’opera è stata curata dagli specialisti della Sundazed Records e masterizzata da sua maestà Bob Irwin. Il cofanettone arriva ad ottobre praticamente in contemporanea con l’altra opera eletta, la super versione in 6 CD del primo seminale lavoro (‘The Velvet Underground & Nico-45th Anniversary’) pronta via Polydor il 30 ottobre al costo di circa 90 dollari.

Il box vinilico contiene:

– Includes the rare mono versions of the VU’s first three albums, the superior mono version of Nico’s Chelsea Girl (featuring Reed, Cale & – Morrison) and a definitive edition of the band’s unfinished fourth album.
– Housed in a deluxe box with all original LP artwork along with two bonus poster inserts
– Introduction by Rolling Stone senior editor/MOJO contributor David Fricke.
– Sourced from the original Verve/MGM analog reels and mastered by Bob Irwin.

(Verve V-5008, mono)

Side 1
1. Sunday Morning
2. I’m Waiting for the Man
3. Femme Fatale
4. Venus In Furs
5. Run Run Run
6. All Tomorrow’s Parties
Side 2
1. Heroin
2. There She Goes Again
3. I’ll Be Your Mirror
4. The Black Angel’s Death Song

5. European Son

(Verve V-5032, mono)

Side 1
1. The Fairest of the Seasons
2. These Days
3.Little Sister
4. Winter Song
5. It Was a Pleasure Then
Side 2
1. Chelsea Girls
2. I’ll Keep It with Mine
3. Somewhere There’s a Feather
4. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams

5. Eulogy to Lenny Bruce

(Verve V-5046, mono)

Side 1
1. White Light/White Heat
2. The Gift
3. Lady Godiva’s Operation
4. Here She Comes Now
Side 2
1. I Heard Her Call My Name
2. Sister Ray
(MGM E-4617, mono)

Side 1
1. Candy Says
2. What Goes On
3. Some Kinda Love
4. Pale Blue Eyes
5. Jesus
Side 2
1. Beginning to See the Light
2. I’m Set Free
3. That’s the Story of My Life
4. The Murder Mystery

5. Afterhours

(The “lost” fourth album-originally unissued, stereo)

Side 1
1. Foggy Notion
2. One of These Days
3. Lisa Says
4. I’m Sticking with You
5. Ocean
Side 2
1. I Can’t Stand It
2. I’m Gonna Move Right In
3. We’re Gonna Have a Real Good Time Together
4. Rock and Roll
5. Ride into the Sun

Qualche giorno dopo il box, il 6 novembre, via Universal Music/Castle Face Records arriva il tributo vestito da album cover dal titolo ‘The Velvet Underground & Nico by Castle Face and Friends’. Partecipano evidentemente gli artisti della label californiana Castle Face di proprietà di John Dwyer dei Thee Oh Sees. “Covering The Velvet Underground & Nico in its entirety sounded like a great idea, and since we had already planned a label wide sleepover it just felt right. If you listen closely you can hear that most of the percussion is the sound of popcorn kernels and empty nitrous canisters being shaken in the box my digital delay came in”. Il disco sarà disponibile in vinile e in versione digitale. Di seguito la lista tracce:

A1. Kelly Stoltz – “Sunday Morning”
A2. Warm Soda – “I’m Waiting for the Man”
A3. Ty Segall – “Femme Fatale”
A4. Blasted Canyons (ft. Jeremy Cox Royal Baths) – “Venus in Furs”
A5. White Fence – “Run Run Run”
A6. The Fresh & Onlys – “All Tomorrow’s Parties”
B1. Burnt Ones – “Heroin”
B2. The Mallard – “There She Goes Again”
B3. Here Comes the Here Comes – “I’ll Be Your Mirror”
B4. K. Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen – “The Black Angel’s Death Song”
B5. Thee Oh Sees – “European Son”