Casiotone For The Painfully Alone: l'ultimo album


Più di dieci anni trascorsi come Casiotone For The Painfully Alone. Owen Ashworth nel 2010 annuncia il “ritiro” del nome arrivando al capolinea dell’avventura, dopo l’ottimo ‘Vs. Children’ uscito su Tomlab nel 2009. Il 35enne californiano scriveva: “It’s been on my mind for six or seven years now, to be honest, but it just never felt like the right time. Twinkle Echo [2003] really felt like the last proper Casiotone album to me, but I kept getting talked out of changing the name by much wiser people than myself. I’m getting older and my tastes are changing and I want to recognize those changes and be honest about what kind of person I’m becoming. I started Casiotone when I was 20, and I’m a different guy now… I’m not obsessed with the same sounds that I used to be obsessed with. The last few Casiotone albums were kind of transitional for me, and I think the new music I’ll make will probably continue along the same path I’ve been following for the last few years. I’m sure I’ll keep writing songs on my own, too. I bought a Rhodes for the last Casiotone tour, and I’ve been recording some little unaccompanied electric piano things on my four-track. I’d like to make a really quiet, gentle little album one of these days”.

Intanto il 12 febbraio la Orindal Records pubblica il primo live ufficiale dei CFTPA chiamato ‘In Cambridge’. Registrato il 28 aprile 2010 al Middle East Upstairs di Cambridge (MA), è un’occasione unica per ascoltare Ashworth accompagnato da una band di sei elementi (con membri di Magical Beautiful e The Dead Science). “In Cambridge is an awesome document of a short-lived live incarnation of Owen Ashworth’s often solo, electronic, lo-fi pop songwriting project – featuring the fullest, most bombastic arrangements of these songs that were ever recorded”.

Limited to 500 copies on 150 gram coke bottle clear vinyl (mail order only) & 500 copies on 150 gram black vinyl


  1. I Love Creedence
  2. New Year’s Kiss
  3. Tom Justice, The Choir Boy Robber, Apprehended at Ace Hardware in Libertyville, IL
  4. Optimist Vs. The Silent Alarm (When The Saints Go Marching In)
  5. Natural Light
  6. Traveling Salesman’s Young Wife Home Alone On Christmas In Montpelier, VT
  7. Man O’ War
  8. Killers
  9. Harsh The Herald Angels Sing
  10. You Were Alone
  11. Cold White Christmas
  12. Bobby Malone Moves Home
  13. Don’t They Have Payphones Wherever You Were Last Night
  14. The Subway Home