James Williamson (Stooges senza Pop): il disco


Hanno avuto l’approvazione di Iggy Pop: “I don’t have a problem with anything, I don’t oppose anything. This statement about the ‘hard pill’ sounds kind of passive aggressive to me. The guys in the touring group have been phoning and emailing me and my rep before during and after the recordings, wondering how I felt about this. These guys are my friends and we’ve all worked together many years. I am glad someone is paying them; they are working musicians and they need to play. I want to thank all the wonderful singers on this record for covering my songs”. James Williamson, Mike Watt, Steve Mackay e Toby Dammit si sono così chiusi nello studio di Dave Grohl per registrare ‘Re-Licked’ che contiene molti brani del 1973, ovverosia dello stesso periodo di ‘Raw Power’. Il giro è sempre quello ecco perchè gli ospiti che figurano nell’operazione semi-nostalgica si chiamano Mark Lanegan, Jello Biafra, Teri Gender Bender (Le Butcherettes, Bosnian Rainbows), Mario Cuomo (The Orwells), Ariel Pink, Carolyn Wonderland, Alison Mosshart e Lisa Kekaula (The Bellrays/Lisa & The Lips). Alcuni brani sono stati eseguiti live durante gli anni ’70, altri hanno nel tempo trovato spazio nei classici bootleg, Williamson aggiunge: “Some of the arrangements have been changed a bit and there’s a few lyrical tweaks, but pretty much they’re true to the originals.” The band has eight tracks finished, with another five to be recorded in the near future”. Per il Record Store Day ad aprile è uscito il 7″ ‘Open Up and Bleed’/’Gimme Some Skin’. Il disco sarà fuori invece il 29 ottobre via Leopard anticipato il 29 luglio dal singolo ‘I Gotta Right’ (assieme alla portentosa Kekaula) che fu scritto da Iggy Pop intorno al 1970. Guarda video – Ascolta ‘I’m Sick Of You‘ (con Mario Cuomo degli Orwells)


01. Head On The Curve (w/ Jello Biafra)
02. Open Up And Bleed (w/ Carolyn Wonderland)
03. Scene Of The Crime (w/ Bobby Gillespie from Primal Scream)
04. She Creatures Of The Hollywood Hills (w/ Ariel Pink)
05. Til The End Of The Night (w/ Alison Mosshart from The Kills, Dead Weather)
06. I Gotta Right (w/ Lisa Kekaula from The BellRays)
07. Pinpoint Eyes (w/ Joe Cardamone from The Icarus Line)
08. Wild Love (w/ Mark Lanegan & Alison Mosshart)
09. Rubber Leg (w/ Ron Young from Little Caesar)
10. I’m Sick Of You (w/ Mario Cuomo from The Orwells)
Bonus Tracks:
11. Gimme Some Skin (w/ Caroline Wonderland)
12. C*ck In My Pocket (w/ Nicke Andersson from The Hellacopters)
13. Heavy Liquid (w/ Lisa Kekaula)
14. Wet My Bed (w/ The Richmond Sluts)
15. C*ck In My Pocket (w/ Gary Floyd from The Dicks)
16. Rubber Leg (w/ J.G. Thirlwell aka Clint Ruin, Foetus)