Queens Of The Stone Age: il nuovo album + in Italia


A gennaio 2015 Josh Homme dichiarava: “We have more than enough songs. We’re booked til September, but after that we plan to jump in the studio and get going. When it’s time to make music, that’s about getting lost for me. To be a control freak is not half as good as being a freak who’s casually in control. You’re feeling around in the dark for something that feels good. As long as you’re not in an orgy, that can be an amazing moment”. Tre mesi dopo altri dettagli arrivavano dal bassista Mikey Shuman (impegnato in quei giorni con lo splendido ritorno dei Mini Mansions). Il musicista raccontava: “Mini Mansions is my focus right now. There will be future stuff with Queens, we’re just taking a break since we had a long, long two years of touring. We’ll take a break to do other stuff. We were eager because we were in a good spot, having fun and the record had done really well. But we decided to take a break because we had been going so hard for so long, and we really worked on that record for a long time. It’s not like we’re sick of each other and don’t want to do it – it’s just better to step back for a second and come back once the world has had a little bit of a break from you”.

La storia poi è ampiamente nota. Josh Homme impegnato in studio e in tour con Iggy Pop, nell’ombra e fisicamente con gli EODM, forse nel rispolvero delle ormai leggendarie Desert Sessions (“with another gathering of heavy hitters in a studio out in Joshua Tree”, si diceva un anno fa) e adesso anche nel seguito di ‘… Like Clockwork’ ormai datato 2013. In un episodio del podcast Let There Be Talk il 43enne californiano ha infatti dichiarato: “Yeah, [a QOTSA return is up next on my schedule]. Same lineup, we’re locked in. We’re having a meeting tomorrow about what we’re gonna do”. Da ricordare che nello febbraio 2016 Homme è diventato padre per la terza volta (Wolf Dillon Reece l’ultimo nato…).

luglio 2016 – Un mese dopo le dichiarazioni di Homme anche Troy Van Leeuwen (impegnato nel supergruppo Gone Is Gone) conferma la “mobilitazione” per dar vita al nuovo album dei QOTSA. Intervistato all’interno di “2 Hours With Matt Pinfield” il musicista spiega: “We’ve already started talking about what we’re gonna do next for the next Queens record. There’s tons of ideas that are bouncing around. We’re going to do something before the end of the year, as far as recording goes. We’re excited to get back together to follow-up ‘…Like Clockwork,’ which was a really, really big record for us, personally. It was a big record for us ‘cause it was the hardest record to make. And we’re trying to not do that again. We just want to keep things simpler and try that, I guess”.

febbraio 2017 – Una foto (poi rimossa) postata da Jesse Hughes assieme a Homme e Dave Grohl in studio. Una settimana dopo le prime foto “ufficiali” dei lavori in corso in casa QOTSA.

qots2marzo 2017“Queens Of The Stone Age have reportedly ‘just finished’ work on their long-awaited new album”.

6 aprile – la band e la Matador pubblicano un nuovo, chiarissimo “indizio”.

24 aprile – Siamo quasi vicini alla meta. Dallo studio californiano di Burbank Lurssen Mastering ecco la foto che ritrae i nostri eroi: “Something new brewing. Queens Of The Stone Age, an album just got mixed…”. Il primo singolo è alle porte…!

25 Maggio – Alla stazione radio neozelandese The Rock FM Josh Homme parla dell’imminente nuovo album.

“The new record is more like – you’re sort of like a panther in the trees leaping out of the darkness. We’re ready to pounce, everyone is really ready to go. I feel like we’re just leaning on the gate waiting for someone to open that sucker up so we can move. I think the record feels that way too – it feels uptempo. While last thing [‘…Like Clockwork’] was about making it through, this time we’ve made it through the other side and we’re ready to roll. I’ve always been a believer that right now is all you’ll ever get. In that respect, I don’t get too nostalgic; I think the most difficult thing is to make your last record your best record. And the only way to do that is to concentrate on the one that you’re on and make it full of risk and be vulnerable and take a chance. At the end of the day, this is just a musical way to explain a lifetime. So the most important record I’m making is the one I’m working on. For the lack of better term, I bet my life on it. If you don’t risk anything, you’re not gonna get anything. I don’t wanna copy myself, I just wanna take another chance at it; it keeps it always exciting that way”.

QOTSA.com si attiva e nel giro di due giorni. Tutto svelato. Il nuovo album si chiama ‘Villains’ prodotto da Mark Ronson e sarà fuori il 25 agosto. ‘The Way You Use To Do‘ il primo singolo presentato a BBC Radio 6 Music in diretta telefonica con Steve Lamacq.

UPDATE – Il nuovo singolo è ‘The Evil Has Landed‘.


4 novembre @ Unipol Arena/Bologna


1. Feet Don’t Fail Me
2. The Way You Used To Do
3. Domesticated Animals
4. Fortress
5. Head Like A Haunted House
6. Un-Reborn Again
7. Hideaway
8. The Evil Has Landed
9. Villains Of Circumstance


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here