Morrissey: il nuovo album


Ad inizio gennaio Morrissey ha anticipato i piani per il prossimo futuro sottoposto al fuoco di fila delle domande di alcuni fan attraverso Questions And Answers.

“We are about to record our new album, and one of the tracks is called ‘Istanbul’. It is second to Rome as my most favorite city in the world. When I’m in Istanbul I feel as if I could never die. My life is matched. I have been trying to book the Istanbul Opera House, and I long to play Ankara, Izmir and Bursa, but local promoters say I am not well-known enough. Even if I sing to one hundred people in Izmir I’d be happy!”. Morrissey finalmente ad una svolta quattro anni dopo ‘Years Of Refusal’. Ma all’orizzonte anche un romanzo: “In 2013 I published my Autobiography and it has been more successful than any record I have ever released. So, yes, I am mid-way through my novel. I have my hopes. The actuality is that radio stations will not play my music, and the majority of people have lost faith in the music industry, and it’s generally assumed – quite rightly – that the number one chart positions are “bought” by the major labels, so there really is no passion left in pop or rock music, and I don’t think people believe for an instant that the faces we constantly see on television and in magazines are remotely popular. It’s all, now, solely a question of marketing. All success stories are safe and dreary, and you will never be taken by surprise by a hit song that sounds out of place. This is not just my view but the view of everyone I know”. E poi impossibile non tornare sull’eterna questione The Smiths: “As an entity, I have no interest in the Smiths, so as long as I’m not asked about the Smiths, I won’t slip into permanent unconsciousness. And that’s a promise”.

Poi a metà dello stesso mese ecco l’ufficialità. Cinque anni dopo ‘Years Of Refusal’ entro fine anno arriverà il nuovo album, il primo per la Harvest (costola della Capitol) registrato in Francia con la produzione di Joe Chiccarelli (Beck, Elton John…).

Harvest Records has signed globally-renowned artist Morrissey to a worldwide recording agreement, it was announced today by the label’s General Managers Piero Giramonti and Jacqueline Saturn. Morrissey’s first album under the deal will be released in the second half of this year. Morrissey stated that he is “thrilled” with the agreement, and will commence recording of his new album – the artist’s first since 2009’s Years Of Refusal – later this month in France with producer Joe Chiccarelli. Joining Morrissey in France will be his longtime recording and touring band, including Boz Boorer (guitar), Jesse Tobias (guitar), Solomon Walker (bass), Matthew Walker (drums) and Gustavo Manzur (keyboards). Tour dates for 2014 will be announced soon. According to Capitol Music Group Chairman and CEO Steve Barnett, “Morrissey is clearly one of music’s most important and influential artists. He is the rare soul who has stayed consistently true to his artistic vision and ethical principles since he first exploded onto the scene in the 1980s. We are so happy that he has chosen Capitol Music Group as his home and that his forthcoming album on Harvest will bring new Morrissey music to the world”. CMG Executive Vice President Michelle Jubelirer added, “Morrissey is a truly singular artist whose music and live performances first captured a worldwide audience thirty years ago and never let go. He is uncompromising in his integrity, extremely devoted to his fans and an artist with a unique and needed voice in our culture. It’s so great that Morrissey is with CMG, and, more important, that he is about to record his first new album in five years”.

7 marzo: si chiama ‘World Peace Is None of Your Business’ e sarà fuori probabilmente tra giugno/luglio via Harvest Records. 12 tracce che il Moz chiama “beyond ecstatic”.

11 aprile: il disco esce a luglio ed ecco rivelata la tracklist

1. World Peace Is None Of Your Business
2. Neal Cassady Drops Dead
3. Istanbul
4. I’m Not A Man
5. Earth Is The Loneliest Planet
6. Staircase At The University
7. The Bullfighter Dies
8. Kiss Me A Lot
9. Smiler With Knife
10. Kick The Bride Down The Aisle
11. Mountjoy
12. Oboe Concerto

6 maggio: Sarà questa la nuova copertina del disco? Intanto Lee Thompson (Music Editor at Record Of The Day) twitta date d’uscita e nomi dei prossimi singoli.

14/05 – World Peace Is None Of Your Business
21/05 – Istanbul
04/06 – Earth Is The Loneliest Planet


11 maggio: Svelata la copertina del primo singolo.

13 maggio: Ecco il video promo dell’album assieme a Nancy Sinatra (GUARDA) e un assaggio del singolo (ASCOLTA). Il disco esce il 15 luglio. “The album explores the tragedy of human apathy in our turbulent, modern era, with lyrics that are rife with humour, drama, and emotional longing.”

1. World Peace Is None of Your Business
2. Neal Cassady Drops Dead
3. Istanbul
4. I’m Not a Man
5. Earth Is the Loneliest Planet
6. Staircase at the University
7. The Bullfighter Dies
8. Kiss Me a Lot
9. Smiler with Knife
10. Kick the Bride Down the Aisle
11. Mountjoy
12. Oboe Concerto
13. Scandinavia (bonus track)
14. One of Our Own (bonus track)
15. Drag the River (bonus track)
16. Forgive Someone (bonus track)
17. Julie In the Weeds (bonus track)
18. Art-Hounds (bonus track)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here